Evolution ICON Award to be presented to Academy & Emmy winning actress Melissa Leo

Buzz, Film, Reviews

Announced today, this year’s 7th Annual Evolution Mallorca International Film Festival will present the inaugural Evolution ICON Award to Academy Award and Emmy Award winning actress Melissa Leo.


Said EMIFF Founder and Executive Director Sandra Seeling Lipski, “Melissa Leo has built a career playing a range of eclectic and fascinating women, immersing into her characters completely and gifting the audience truthful and charged performances every single time. The Evolution ICON Award celebrates her trailblazing achievement as an actress and her unshakable independent spirit in today’s international film industry.”


Ms. Leo will receive her award in a Centerpiece Gala Tribute in conjunction with a special screening of The Fighter, by David O. Russell (2010), which garnered her an Academy Award for Best Actress in a Supporting Role.


This year’s Evolution Mallorca International Film Festival will also feature additional Gala Award Presentations, including a Centerpiece Gala Evolution Honorary Award Presentation to iconic actress Marisa Paredes with a screening of her award-winning film The Flower of My Secret, by Pedro Almodóvar; the Evolution Vision Award presentation to Danish actor Mads Mikkelsen, with a screening of his new film Arctic; and a Closing Night Evolutionary Award presentation to Academy Award nominated filmmaker Tobias Lindholm.

This year’s program celebrates over 100 films and special events from 23 countries, including 15 narrative feature films, 6 Feature Documentaries and 79 short content projects including international short films, Documentary shorts, Experimental films, Music Videos, Films for Kids and a Virtual Reality lounge. An ever-growing Made In Baleares section presents a record breaking 25 films produced and directed by the most talented filmmakers from the Balearic Islands.

Previous Evolution Awards have been given to elite and iconic filmmakers, including Paul Haggis in 2017 and Danny DeVito in 2016.

Leave a Reply