Inside the Film the House Awards 2020

Buzz, Film, TV

Film The House is a competition run by MPs to find the filmmakers of the future.

The competition is sponsored by Lord Clement-Jones, Wes Streeting MP and Rt Hon John Whittingdale OBE MP.

All shortlisted entrants have been invited to the Film the House Winners’ Ceremony at the House of Commons on 3 March 2020 where Helen Lederer, writer, comedian and actor, will compère the ceremony.

The competition enjoys widespread support from industry and is sponsored by the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society (ALCS), Directors UK, Lionsgate, The Motion Picture Association, Sky, ViacomCBS, the Walt Disney Company and Warner Brothers Inc.

Film the House was launched as a fun way to educate Parliamentarians and young people about the importance of the creative industries to the UK economy and the many ways in which we can nurture and protect our creative industries. Together with partner competition, Rock the House, it is now one of Parliament’s largest competitions and is just one of a number of initiatives that is aimed at significantly raising awareness of the need to protect creativity and copyright by bringing together young filmmakers and Parliamentarians.

Film the House is intended to invite and to showcase the ‘best’ film makers and script writers across the UK – with particular emphasis on young participants and people who have not, yet, been noticed and realised their potential.

Entries were initially shared with MPs and an expert industry panel of leading figures from across Britain’s creative landscape chose the shortlist and winners.

Leave a Reply